CofC Logo

Department of Political Science

Student Spotlight


Political science major, Tripp Keeffe, is the new president of the Student Government Association at the College of Charleston. Read more about his journey in The College Today.

Message from the Chair


Gibbs Knotts, Department Chair
Welcome to the Department of Political Science. Whether you are interested in American campaigns and elections or international human rights, global climate change or criminal justice, foreign policy or urban planning, Chinese politics or the politics of Africa, intelligence gathering or health policy, local community groups or international development agencies, the Department of Political Science has the courses and extracurricular programming for you. The faculty and staff in our department are committed to your success, both as a student in Charleston and for life after college. Our department has a large and distinguished alumni network, as you can see from the profiles (below) which were featured in The College Today. More information can be found on the Alumni Corner of our website.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have and let us know how we can make your time at the College of Charleston even better! Our administrative office is open daily from 8 am-4pm and is located at 114 Wentworth Street, room 104. 

H.Gibbs Knotts
Department Chair


Alumni Profiles

Roland Cruickshank C'94 - President, United Methodist Hospital
Michelle Bloom C'13 - White House Intern
Jackson Ewing C'03 - Director of Asian Sustainability

Career Readiness Skills

career ready


Political Science in the News: Faculty Comments and Research on the 2018 Midterm Elections
Posted on 20 November 2018 | 12:17 pm
As the 2018 midterm elections were closely watched around the country, several CofC political science faculty members weighed in with their perspectives on the contentious campaigns. Check out the links below to see featured news clips, articles, and published research by or about our faculty! Dr. Karyn Amira Do People Contrast and Assimilate Candidate Ideology? […]
Read More
Faculty Profile: Visiting Professor Dr. Shyam Sriram
Posted on 19 November 2018 | 1:35 pm
Visiting professor Dr. Shyam Sriram made the transition from Santa Barbara, California to Charleston this summer in order to join the political science department for the 2018-19 academic year. Currently he is teaching Contemporary Political Issues and American Government; this spring, in addition to American Government, he will be teaching Religion in American Politics, and […]
Read More